How to be Champion. Sarah Millican

2.5 stars for this memoir/self-help book.

I have always liked Sarah Millican – I haven’t been to any of her shows but I have enjoyed her tv appearances and I applaud what she set out to do with her Standard Issue magazine. So I was looking forward to reading this book. Unfortunately, I found I enjoyed How to be Champion less the more I read. As Sarah would say, it isn’t my cup of tea.

I did laugh out loud at some parts of the book, and I very much like what she has to say about body image, self-esteem, mental health and the media. But I was rather confused as to the book’s intended readership, to me a great deal of it seemed to be written very simply as though for children – but given her love of swearing and her pronouncement of what the popular girls at her school got up to, I don’t think it can be for children! I also found there to be too much repetition and padding, and I was disappointed that her tolerance doesn’t stretch to matters of faith. And when I closed the book I was left feeling sad: she has very obviously been asked to explain over and again why she has no children, and I’d have been happier for her if she could have retorted that it was none of our business but instead she felt compelled to explain at length why she doesn’t want children. No woman owes anyone an explanation of why they do not have children.

I received this ebook free from NetGalley in return for an honest review. UK publication: 5 October 2017 by Trapeze.

Leave a Reply

