One Perfect Lie. Lisa Scottoline

1.5 stars. This is the first book by Lisa Scottoline that I have read but I’m afraid it will also be my last.

I was left unimpressed by the characterisation, and I think the reason I couldn’t care about any of the characters is because the author didn’t seem to care about them either: they are sketchily drawn, pretty much interchangeable and shallow.

The workmanlike thriller plot was the strongest aspect of the book but the insertion of a fledgling romance was a mistake as it felt inauthentic and helped dispel any tension in the story. Clunking sentences like ‘He was a total hunk, and sensitive, but in a manly way’ surely has no place in a thriller/any book that I would ever want to read. Unfortunately the plot fails too, most spectacularly with a rescue scene involving… well, I’m just going to quote ‘like a trapeze artist’… at which point I became pretty much convinced that the writer was trolling her readership.

Disappointing.

I received this book free from NetGalley and the publisher, Headline. UK paperback publication date: 2 November 2017.

Leave a Reply

